They like me, they really like me

I told myself about a week ago that it was time to bite the bullet and start blogging. It’s something I had been thinking about for well over a year now and in very typical “Jules fashion”, I felt my birthday was the perfect day to reveal my blogging thoughts to the masses, er nice people who decide to read this. (I’m big on anniversaries, birthday’s and anything that can be considered a “special occasion”).

Next came the daunting task of what to write for my first post. Lucky for me, my amazing friends made that decision for me. From the minute I woke this morning my phone, facebook and twitter have been exploding with people wishing me a happy birthday. Family, friends, colleagues, even some ex boyfriends with whom I haven’t spoken in years. And it hits me, they like me. They really, really like me.  My friends are amazing and I am so luck to have each and every one of them in my life.

There is the high school gang. A handful of friends from high school that I am still lucky enough to be close to. And even though I don’t see them very often, when I do, it’s 2001 again and we are just as silly as we were at 17.

The many groups of “20 something friends” Wonderful people who have come into my life over the last few years and helped me grow up.

There are the sorority girls. It’s a select few I am still close with, but like the high school crew, when we see each other it is as if no time has passed.

Then there is the college crew. Friendships that formed over dorm food, cheap vodka and huge life changes. The ones who have seen me at my worst, and love me anyway.

I’m blown away at how lucky I am that as I get older I see my group of friends growing, not shrinking. That no matter what I know on my birthday that I am loved by an abundance of people.

So, I still haven’t ridden a mechanical bull, but with all the amazing people in my life, this just might be the year.

3 responses to “They like me, they really like me

  1. Way to go Jules! Happy, happy day to you.

  2. Happy birthday! 🙂 Friends old and new are simply the best!

Leave a Reply

