A Farwell

There are few things that I am as bad at as goodbyes. Even when I know it’s the right thing, it is still something that is very hard for me. Friends, boyfriends, and now for the first time in my life, my job.

I’ll spare you the details, but for the last four years I worked for an athletic apparel company.

To say I loved it, would be a lie. I liked it, and I was pretty good at it, (athletic apparel runs in my blood.) What I loved, really and truly, were the people. For four years the team of sales rep and the wonderful design team that we worked with became friends. Very close friends. And  today for the first time in four years my Fila Friends are all at sales meetings on the east coast and I am not.

After four wonderfully challenging years I  made the decision to move on to my next adventure. I have felt a whole range of emotions over the last few weeks as I made the decision to change my career path. Mostly,  it is exciting, it is a little scary but what I was most surprised to feel, was sad. Sad to say goodbye to so many friends. People who saw me enter my professional life as a green behind the ears 23 year old, who was probably a little too shy to be in sales. I feel like they watched me grow up, but more importantly, they helped me grow up.

Words cannot express how incredibly blessed I feel to have gotten to know and work with such an amazing, talented and awesome group of people! They taught me so much, not just about the business but about life as well and for that I can only say thank you. I know I would not be the person I am today if I had not had the pleasure of knowing them all.

So, while I sit here at home I am thinking of you all, my Fila Friends and hope that you are drinking a glass of white wine for me at the hotel bar!

2 responses to “A Farwell

  1. So happy to have you at BlogFrog!

  2. Pingback: Starting over at a Start Up | The Mechanical Bull

Leave a Reply

