School Readiness

As the daughter and sister of educators, many people ask me why I too am not a teacher. My response’s usually range from the sarcastic (and totally untrue) “I don’t like other people’s children” to the honest “I am horrible at explaining things to other people”. And while I could never be a teacher, I have spent more of my life listening to conversations about early childhood education then I would like to admit! Luckily for me, that means when the time comes that I have children of pre-school age and am ready to send them off I’ll have a good idea on how to prepare them, (and myself) before hand.

Take the time to meet you child’s teacher and tour the school before school starts. Once by yourself, and once closer to the start date with your child. If you tour it by yourself first, you will get all of your questions answered and out of the way. That way, when you tour with your child your focus can be on them, it also sets you up as an expert about the school to your child. I am not yet a parent, but I know as a kid, if my parents were confident in a situation I could tell, the same way I could tell when they were nervous or stressed out. If you know where you child is going to school, where and with whom they will be spending their days without you, and are happy in that decision, your child will be able to tell and will be much happier to be there as well.

Make learning fun! As many of you know, early childhood education is as much about what happens during the school day as it is what happens after they get home. There are teachable moments everyday and in almost every situation, school stops being fun when it stops being about new experiences.

Speaking of new experiences. Starting school is an exciting to start new traditions, or to revive your favorite ones from childhood. I can’t wait to back to school shop with my kids, or to snap that photo of them in front of that same tree every year so I can document how they both grow. But I also can’t wait to ask them “what back to school tradition do you want to start?” We all know kids want to be big kids and what better way to let them, then to put them in the driver seat of their back to school experience.

Those are just a few tips from me, the single non-teacher, who loves kids and can’t wait to have her own.

I’m curious to know: What advice do you have for moms prepping for preschool? KinderCarewill choose one lucky participant and make donation in their name to the Reach Out And Readchapter of their choice!

This is a sponsored conversation written by me on behalf of KinderCare. The opinions and text are all mine. Official Contest Rules.

 

One response to “School Readiness

  1. Gretchen Vorhaus

    You are very wise about school, education, and early childhood. This article touched me very much and brought tears to my eyes. I couldn’t be more proud of my “non-teacher” daughter, who will be one of the most amazing mothers who ever lived.

Leave a Reply

