Cravings

We all get cravings. Like wanting a gyro at 5am. The need for a new pair of shoes, a glass of chocolate milk. Whatever it may be, we all get ’em.

Well for me a few weeks ago, it was fried chicken. I literally could not stop thinking about it. But I am not one to run to KFC and pick up a bucket. Oh no, I had to make it myself.

Image

Lucky for me, a good friend shared his family’s recipe and it came out super yummy! I can’t wait to make it again

Ingredients:

2 cups buttermilk

2 tablespoons hot sauce (I used Frank’s)

1 tablespoon salt

2 chickens, cut into 8 pieces ( I used a package of drumsticks and bone in breasts with skin still on)

2 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoons backing powder

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon paprika

5 cups vegetable oil, or shortening for frying (I used peanut oil)

Directions:

1. In an extra-large zip lock bag, combine buttermilk, hot sauce and 1 tsp. salt. Add chicken pieces, turning to coat. Seal bag, pressing out excess air. Place bag in a bowl; refrigerate for 2-24 hours to marinate, turning bag over once.

2. In a pie plate or bowl, stir flour, baking powder, pepper, paprika and remaining 2 tsp. salt until well mixed. Remove a few pieces of chicken buttermilk mixtures and shake off excess liquid. Add chicken to flour mixture, turning to coat well. Place chicken on wire rack set over waxed paper, without letting pieces touch. Repeat with remaining chicken pieces, using a 2nd rack if necessary; let stand 15 minutes to set coating. Discard buttermilk mixture.

3. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 250 degrees F. Line two large cookie sheets with paper towels. Divide oil between 2 12-inch skillets, ( about a 1/2 inch in each skillet) and heat over medium heat until about 360 degrees on a deep fry thermometer.

4. Add 4 pieces of chicken, skin side down, being careful not to crowd pieces, to each skillet. Cover skillet and cook until chicken is light golden brown on the bottom, 4 to 5 minutes. Turn pieces over and cook, covered (reducing heat if necessary) for 8-10 minutes (for white meat, 13 to 15 for dark meat), turning pieces every 4 to 5 minutes. Chicken is done when well browned on all sides and juices run clear when thickest part is pierced with the tip of a knife. Transfer chicken to lined cookie sheets to drain. Keep warm in oven and repeat with remaining chicken.

Image

Steps 1 and 2 complete! Ready to get fried

Not that I’m a health nut, but I knew I wanted to keep the sides light. I served it with fresh corn on the cob, sliced tomatoes and cucumber salad.

Image

Yum!

What are you craving?

One response to “Cravings

  1. Gretchen Vorhaus

    I’m craving some time with my amazing daughter, She writes, she cooks and she is just simply WONDERFUL!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

